Recovery, Good News, and Musings

I’d say recovery is complete from my back surgery. A few rough weeks with nerve pain in my legs, but Medrol dose packs helped. (May I just say that labor was more bearable than the nerve pain.) Unfortunately, I needed four of the dose packs, for which doctor was hesitant to approve. So with the last one, I was also told to take four other pain relievers. It all worked. I believe it was the accumulated pain meds by the end of the day that contributed to my falls. I fell twice, and the last time was a doozy. Black eye and all that. No permanent damage, but I stopped all the pain meds. My balance is not good, and now I need to use a cane at times. It forces me to slow down.

A big test comes this Saturday, when I drive for a little over an hour to get to my writing chapter’s annual Christmas party. Sitting and driving for over an hour used to really aggravate my back, so I’ll see. Hopefully, all will be well.

My good news! I applied for and was accepted into PAN on November 27th. What the heck is that? Published Authors Network. I am a member of RWA, the Romance Writers of America, and the organization has writers of all levels. Those who want to write, those who have written but haven’t yet been published, and those who have been published. As well as PAN, there is PRO. Pro membership signifies you have completed a manuscript, sent it out, but it wasn’t accepted. I had been a member of PRO for many years. It’s actually a big deal, because completing a manuscript, and editing intoΒ  good shape is harder than you think. Being eligible for PAN means you have earned $1,000.00 on one book in one year. The book that earned me PAN is AUDREY’S LOVE.

eCoverFinalLG-AudreysLovePuppy Tawney is doing well. Unfortunately, she chews anything and everything. I find the weirdest stuff in the backyard. Gloves, a stocking. ??? Toys I can understand, and I’ve told my grandchildren not to leave their muddy shoes where Tawny can reach them. Or their toys. They forget.

One of my cats, Sally, collects little socks that litter the floor of this house. I have to find them before Tawny finds them and eats them.

Three Cats 01Sally is in the middle. Sophie is on the left and Loupie on the right.

Tawny still hasn’t learned to walk on a leash yet. Okay, she can walk near me as she lunges ahead. Unfortunately, whenever I try to walk her, my back hurts after.She’s only 34 pounds. I keep trying different harnesses, because just a leash on her collar is pointless; she slips out and laughs at me as she dances around me in circles. My fingers are just not as nimble as they used to be, which ticks me off as I try to unsnap the collar and get it back on her. She needs training, but I am hesitant to sign up this time of year. Really, the least of my worries. πŸ™‚

IMG_0701

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Recovery, Good News, and Musings

  1. Congratulations on your back recovery & PAN…! Invest in a check chain – yes some people don’t like them and call them choke chains but if the loop is the right way up it doesn’t get tight. Then a quick tug and release trains puppy not to pull. The action resets their brain. Good luck.

  2. Excellent! So glad you’re doing better, Gerri. And congratulations on Audrey’s Love and PAN acceptance. Things can only get better πŸ™‚

  3. Delynn Royer says:

    Congratulations on all of your good news, Gerri. Looking forward to seeing you out and about on Saturday!

  4. Yay!! So glad to read that you’re over the worst of the surgery recovery, Gerri. Hope you can have a pleasant drive without any pain. CONGRATULATIONS!! on the PAN award! Audrey’s Love is truly a gem!

  5. Glad to hear you are on the mend and that your professional life keeps growing! MIss you.

  6. Some truly nice and useful information on this site, besides I think the style has got superb features.

Leave a Reply

