Gerri Bowen: My New Puppy

IMG_0701Meet Miss Tawny. She’s my new puppy. I got her from Missions Of Mercy Rescue in Hanover, one week ago today. She’s four months old, weighs 17 1/2 pounds. Tawny is said to be a Red Heeler mix. One of the vets said Tawny might be part hound, too. As I understand it, Red Heelers were bred in Australia in the mid 1800’s from herding dogs and Dingos. Ranchers wanted a herding dog that could stand the heat.

IMG_0712She looks like a fawn to me. A fawn with a long tail. The tip of her tail is white. You can’t see it, but the white on her feet is speckled. She had a brother and sister who were all white with brown speckles.

IMG_0703IMG_0708This is the pond she stepped/fell into almost as soon as she started exploring the back yard. It did not have the little white fence around the perimeter at that time. Tawny climbed back out herself, but kept trying to jump back in. I bought her a wading pool the next day.

IMG_0714Snook and Tawny. It didn’t take long before Tawny started chasing Snook around the yard. Today she started biting at his throat to incite him to chase her. After a few rounds of chasing, she jumps into the wading pool, drinks, and jumps out again.

IMG_0713Snook is patient and gentle with her. He was sad after my Minnie died. Tawny now gives him a reason to race around the yard again.

IMG_0710Snook likes to jump up and drink from the waterfall.

IMG_0704

IMG_0706Tawny and I both prefer to sit in the shade when possible. She keeps trying to eat the bumble bees. She is successful at eating lightning bugs at night, jumping up and catching them in her mouth.

My cats refuse to enter my part of the house while I have this new creature. Today though, for the first time since I brought Tawny home, they all remained downstairs, although in elevated positions, while watching Tawny being led around on a leash.

They no longer look at her with the WTF is that thing? expression. Sophie is the bravest of the cats, and she has allowed Tawny to smell her. Sophie even rubs against Tawny, I think to show the other cats that a) Sophie is the bravest or b) this creature is a dog, just keep a close eye on it and all will be well.

Not much else to tell. The house training is ongoing. Some days are perfect, some not so much. Tawny is terrified of getting near or in a car. I assume because of the long transport ride from Texas to the rescue site. I have to pick her up and place her in the car when we go anywhere. I’m sure that will pass. I hope.

Meanwhile, it’s nice to again have a dog of my own close-by. I love my animals, but I will always be a dog person first. I’m sure many can relate to that. πŸ™‚

There have been many mentions of the beautiful back yard. It is my son-in-law who is responsible for all the beautiful flowers and grouping of plants. He is a natural at this. (I am allowed a portion near my side, as my son-in-law knows how easily I can get carried away with flowers)Β 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Gerri Bowen: My New Puppy

  1. Angela Adams says:

    What a little cutie!

  2. Congratulations on the addition to your family, Gerri! And what a beautiful yard to play in πŸ™‚

  3. Karen Blake-Hall says:

    She’s so cute.

    k

  4. bethtrissel says:

    Darling! How wonderful. Love the pics and the puppy.

  5. She’s a little doll, Gerri! She’s got a beautiful yard to frolic in and a friend. Ah, life is good. :0)

  6. She looks like my little Duggy! Beautiful! She’s a lucky girl to have found you and you her.

  7. Cute puppy! She’s obviously made herself at home πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

