Gerri Bowen and guest Shelley Munro and A Rafflecopter giveaway!

Today my guest is Shelley Munro. I love to read her blog and hear about her travels and look at her photos. I also love to read her books. She is a wonderful story-teller. Her books are mainly hot to erotic, so if you can’t get enough of that, these books are for you. Even if you don’t normally read that genre, her stories are wonderfully crafted with fantastic characters, and well worth reading! So here is what Shelley has to say!

Don’t forget to read about and enter her contest! Details at bottom of post.

A Discount Trip for Exploration by Shelley Munro

Reading is a discount ticket to everywhere – Mary Schmich

My name is Shelley Munro, and I’m an author published with Carina Press, Ellora’s Cave and Samhain Publishing. I live and breathe writing, but when I’m ready for a break my favorite thing to do is pack my bags and take off to explore a new corner of the world. Luckily, my husband shares my passion and we’ve been exploring together since our early twenties.

Oddly enough, it was reading and books that fueled my early passion for travel. Mills & Boon books were my introduction to romance, and they took me on armchair journeys to England, Greece, Italy, Spain and France. In fact, when hubby and I visited Greece, I was surprised not to find the beaches littered with rich, handsome bachelors. The surplus of chubby, sunburned and inebriated tourists came as a huge shock!

When I was a teenager my cousin informed everyone he was off to India. “Very nice,” we told him, but privately we were all going, why???? You’ve probably guessed from this that India rated low on my visit wish list, but my husband and I did an overland trip from London to Kathmandu and India was part of the itinerary. I was entranced from the moment we crossed the border from Pakistan, and thus began my love affair with the country.

India is a place of contrasts. It’s vibrant and in-your-face. It’s colorful and full of interesting, intriguing sights. The southern beaches are gorgeous. The northern mountains are majestic. There’s history galore, ranging from temples to palaces. Most people are friendly and the food is really good—especially if you’re a vegetarian like me.

Once I started writing romances, it was inevitable that travel and writing would entwine and my world explorations would influence me as to characters and settings.

My book Wanderlust came from my adventures in India. Wanderlust is a romantic mystery and features a group of tourists who are traveling together through India. One by one the passengers aboard the overland truck are killed off, and the tour leader is at her wits end trying to hold everything together.

Today I thought I’d share a few photos from our trip to India. They’re places I revisited in Wanderlust.

India -Agra

The Taj Mahal has to be one of the most romantic places on Earth since it was built by Emperor Shah Jahan as a memorial for his second wife who died giving birth to their fourteenth child.

 

India - Jaipur_Elephant ride

At Jaipur we visited the Amber Palace. The palace is at the top of the hill and you can either walk up under your steam or catch an elephant.

 India - Jaiselmer

Jaisalmer is a walled fort in the middle of the Rajasthan desert. My memories of this town is mixed since the hotels were booked out and we ended up sleeping on a hotel roof top. Mosquitoes whined overhead and dogs barked ALL night.

India - Pushkar

Pushkar is a small, almost mystical town. Local restrictions mean no alcohol, meat, eggs or public displays of affection. The town is a Hindu pilgrimage center and also has a Brahma temple. It’s also known for its annual camel fair. I started to show the symptoms of malaria here and wasn’t very well, but I managed to do a little sightseeing.

Pakistan

This photo was actually taken in Northern Pakistan and it always makes me smile. See the nearest boy holding up his hands as if I’m going to misfire and hit him!

While India might not tempt you, I’ve used my travel experience in other books too.

Gold Coast Australia – Summer Lovin’, Dreams of Oasis III, anthology

England – Cat Burglar in Training

Yellowstone National Park – Lone Wolf

Africa/New Zealand – Romantic Interlude

South Island, New Zealand/Samoa/Fiji – Middlemarch Mates series

New Zealand – Talking Dogs series, Fancy Free series, Love and Friendship series

CONTEST – To go into a draw to win a $20 Amazon gift certificate complete the rafflecopter below. Which country would you like a discount ticket to visit and why?

Shelley Munro lives in New Zealand with her husband and a rambunctious puppy called Bella. She writes romances for Carina Press, Ellora’s Cave and Samhain Publishing. To learn more about Shelley, Wanderlust and her other books visit her website at www.shelleymunro.com

WEBSITE: http://www.shelleymunro.com

BLOG: http://www.shelleymunro.com/blog

AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE: http://www.amazon.com/Shelley-Munro/e/B001JOWGNK

FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/ShelleyMunroAuthor

GOODREADS: http://www.goodreads.com/ShelleyMunro 

PINTEREST: http://www.pinterest.com/ShelleyMunro

TWITTER: http://www.twitter.com/ShelleyMunro

A Rafflecopter giveaway!

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/MGU2NDU3NmU4ZjgyMDYyNTRhYTFjNjRiOGU1YWYxOjk=/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Gerri Bowen and guest Shelley Munro and A Rafflecopter giveaway!

  1. When I lived in Europe I was always amazed at how many Australians we’d see. Happy traveling and writing. I tweeted.

  2. Hi Gerri. Thanks for having me to visit today!

    Ella – Australians and New Zealanders love to travel. It’s a tradition to do an OE (Overseas Experience) in our early twenties. Hubby and I went to England for one year. That was the plan, but we ended up staying six years.

  3. Angela Adams says:

    Hi, Shelley. Thanks for sharing your pictures. And, I love the name of your dog (smile).

  4. Maggie Nash says:

    Great blog Shelley. I like to use places I’ve been to in my stories too. It adds that air of authenticity to them I think. Nothing like immersing yourself in the culture of a place to help you layer the senses in a story. I hope the malaria doesn’t still bother you! Your pictures are wonderful!

  5. chickie434 says:

    That’s a tough one. I’m going to go with England or Australia. I’ve wanted to visit both those countries for years. I want to visit England because I am part British, plus I love the culture, and I love Australia as well and the people seem so happy and fun, I’ve always wanted to visit. Though I wouldn’t mind going to visit Ireland again (yes, I am part Irish as well). Thanks a bunch for sharing!

    -Emily

  6. Emily, great choices. I’m trying to persuade hubby to do a return visit to Britain. We lived there for six years and I miss it sometimes. Loved Ireland too.

Leave a Reply

