I believe this is important for all of is.

GMOs hiding in almost all food in this country, what are you doing about it?.

Link | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to GMOs hiding in almost all food in this country, what are you doing about it?

  1. Okay, I read and understood the urgent “post-inside” message and found it to have a gross lack of information here. Like defining GMO!!! I had to do a bit of research to find out what that is because I wasn’t familiar with it. Made me feel pretty ignorant because by the nature of the article it sounds like I’m SUPPOSED to know. So now I do: Genetically Modified Organism. And now that I know, I CAN do something about it. Thanks for sending this along, Gerri.

  2. Gerri Bowen says:

    You’re welcome, Polly. I do forget that not everyone is familiar with GMO’s. Kind of like HEA 🙂

  3. bethtrissel says:

    Thanks Gerri. I’m learning more all the time, especially after I did that post last week on the controversial bill proposed in Europe that would severely limit the use of heirloom seeds. I think this must be due (or at least partly due) to the growing power of Monsanto wanting control over seeds and getting government in their pocket. We need to educate ourselves about GMO’s and what’s going on with our food, and how government regulations can be a big part of the evil if they limit the freedom of our seed choices. I have a garden and do a lot of my own cooking and baking, also because I am severely gluten intolerant, but I need more info on how to know which foods have the GMO’s in them.

    • Gerri Bowen says:

      This is a BIG thing, Beth. Some people are aware, some aren’t and some don’t seem to care, or perhaps they feel that everything will be okay. Monsanto is evil. The idea that farmers have to buy seeds from Monsanto, that the farmers cannot legally use any leftover seeds is just plain wrong. I assume the reason that Monsanto has fought against GMO labeling is because they know people will not buy that food. Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Beth

  4. We can protect ourselves as best we can. Organic. Range-fed animals. I have placed myself on a “no” sugar diet, which guaranteed me a quick weight loss. Not so much in that matter, but I have noticed other benefits.

    • Gerri Bowen says:

      We can certainly try, Regina. Avoiding the middle of the food stores, not buying anything in a box or prepared. I have to avoid gluten, myself, and that is in so many products. I do believe we have a right to know what is in/added to the food we eat, in the deodorants/cosmetics we wear, and in our soaps, etc. We can no longer assume that because we see it advertised, and sold in the stores we frequent, that whatever we buy there will be safe for us or our families.

  5. Gerri Bowen says:

    I wish more people would do that, Beth; for their own sakes.

Leave a Reply

