GERRI BOWEN and travel photos of Glastonbury

I have been meaning to continue with my travel photos, but first had to scan them to my computer and then transfer them to my site. I don’t often scan, but when I do, it is a new learning experience for me.

This day was just weird for me. Not bad, but strange. Waiting for the Tor and abbey to open to the public, my daughters and I sat in a nearby establishment and had some coffee. But it was like sitting in the middle of a war, except you couldn’t see what was being thrown around, but you were aware of “things” going past. Not thrown with evil intent, but with definite and pointed intent. We moved our seats but that didn’t help. It was uncomfortable. Found out later there was a witches convention being held that day. As soon as we entered through the gates and into the grounds, it was like a blanket of peace descended.

Below are some photos of Glastonbury Tor.scan0036

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

scan0042

scan0037

Quite a climb, but well worth it.scan0043Always difficult to get a photo without tourists. 🙂

A little closer detail.scan0039

From inside looking out.scan0038

Next are photos of the old abbey, chapel and grounds. Repair was being done inside the old abbey, and every time I entered, I burst into tears. No idea why, but the tears would stop as soon as I exited. I went in again, and the same thing happened. Still no idea why. I tried to see if I could “get” an emotion, or an image, but so much “noise” came through I got nothing. I was too embarrassed and overcome to enter a third time and cry through until I “found” something. Besides, I hate when people stare at me.scan0054

scan0060

scan0066

scan0057

scan0056

scan0048

scan0051

scan0044

scan0041

scan0047

scan0045

scan0052

scan0063

scan0061

scan0053

This was the kitchen. Another weird thing happened to me here. My attention was drawn to the floor beneath the window. There was a “spirit” boy, about ten, lying there. When I left the room, I leaped out the door with the exuberance of a ten year old boy, (my daughter looked at me like I was a old fool) and I knew the spirit boy left with me. Weird, I know.scan0069

scan0062

Leaving, and entering back into the town of Glastonbury.

I hope you enjoyed this little tour. Glastonbury isn’t all that far from Stonehenge and Avebury, so if you visit one, you really should allow time to visit them all.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to GERRI BOWEN and travel photos of Glastonbury

  1. Barb Bettis says:

    Absolutely fantastic, Gerri. I plan a trip to England (more accurately–Long to plan) and I’ll certainly make this a part of the tour. Thanks for sharing. BTW, the photos are excellent–clear and detailed. Good job.

  2. Angelyn says:

    Wow–there’s an other-worldly quality about these pictures. Thank you for sharing them with us, Gerri!

  3. Gerri Bowen says:

    Thank you, Barb. There is so much to see and experience if you go, so please make sure you visit here. And have a wonderful time!

  4. Gerri Bowen says:

    Thank you for the compliment, Angelyn. So difficult to capture all that you see and want to share.

  5. Your photo compositions are beautiful Gerri. Happy New Year :0)

  6. bethbatoha says:

    Thanks, Gerri! The photos are great! Some day I hope to see it for myself!
    Beth

  7. Cathy from CPRW says:

    Gerri, LOVED your photos…I felt like I was there! I’d only ever seen commercial photos of Glastonbury before, and none from the top of the Tor. I’d been to Stonehenge as a child on a school field trip, (lived in Oxfordshire as a child) but didn’t really appreciate it at the time. Would love to talk to you about this in person!

  8. wow – thanks for sharing the photos and your experiences. Amazing.

  9. gerry trust says:

    Very cool, Gerri. Thanks for sharing. So you are a psychic, like me. Interesting. A place like that would really send off the vibes.

  10. Awesome photos, Gerri!! What an amazing place and your experiences there are fascinating. I’d love to be able to visit at some point.

  11. Gerri Bowen says:

    I hope you can, Vonda. I want to get to Scotland!

  12. Jill Archer says:

    Gorgeous photos! Loved this post.

  13. terribrisbin16 says:

    I’ve had the same kind of emotional reactions when visiting historical sites, too!

    Great pictures – thanks for sharing!

  14. What gorgeous photos. I loved your commentary too. Gave me goose bumps. I haven’t visited Glastonbury.

  15. Wonderful photo’s and your very Unique descriptions drew me right in to appreciate all you’ve shown us here. Thank you for sharing.

  16. Gerri Bowen says:

    I appreciate your comments, and am happy you enjoyed this post, Jay. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

  17. homeinawoods says:

    Beautiful and haunting!

  18. Looks like another place I need to visit – lovely photos!

  19. Gorgeous pictures, Gerri! Isn’t it amazing to walk among such old sites? Every time I’ve visited the UK and the one time to Scotland and Wales I was struck by the curves and arches. None of the square and rectangular architecture we’ve got going on in the USA. Thanks for sharing!

  20. Gerri Bowen says:

    Thank you, Polly. It is a treat to be able to walk around those sites and take pictures, and as you mentioned, so different from here. I want to go back again, and take more pictures. And buy postcards! Postcards have such great photos. 🙂

Leave a Reply

