Gerri Bowen and a Family Tradition

Many families have their traditions. Some traditions are handed down through the generations and cheerfully followed, while other families create their own. Maybe they meant it to be a tradition, or maybe not, and might be surprised to find that, years later, they are still doing these things.

So it is with first daughter, second daughter and me. We hide things for the other to find.

I believe the hiding began about sixteen years ago with a large, realistic looking plastic spider. Second daughter placed it on first daughter’s pillow, under the bedspread. It was found, but nothing was said a loud. That’s when the re-hiding began. Back and forth between the two, the spider put in unlikely places. A week or more might pass before it was found. Nothing was ever said except when it was found, and then mostly laughter.

When the spider was “lost”, something else was substituted. Occasionally I would find weird things on my pillow, under my pillow, or in my drawers, and I would re-hide them somewhere in my daughters rooms.

But then, daughters moved out. Hiding things came to an end for a while. One day I noticed what came to be called The Black and White Panda Beady Baby Thing hanging from one of my indoor plants. I smiled and thought how nice it was that someone had put it there for me to enjoy. Finally, weeks later during a weekly Sunday visit, one of my daughters asked if I had noticed the thing hanging on the plant. I said I had and I liked it.

IMG_0671

This is decorated Black and White Panda Beady Baby Thing.

 

No, that was not how the game was played, I was informed. I had to hide it back. Difficult, since my daughters no longer lived at home. So, coat pockets, purses, their cars. So I introduced another, more difficult thing to hide besides The Black and White Panda Beady Baby Thing. I found…Big Headed Baby Doll.

IMG_0668

 

This is decorated Big Headed Baby Doll. We try to keep Big Headed Baby Doll’s decorations intact, but they do fall away on occasion.

 

 

 

 

 

 

It is now second daughter and I who hide these items. It was tough when she moved to New Mexico. I had to go visit her in order to hide them. Now she lives in Maryland, closer. And Christmas is two days away. She is also coming to visit that day. As soon as she sees the bag and box, she will know what is inside. The rules insist she must accept them. It is up to her to find a way to hide them before she leaves.

IMG_0672

 

This is Big Headed Baby Doll with The Black and White Panda Beady Baby Thing.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I plan to follow her if she wanders into my place, and make sure my car is locked. Can’t make it easy for her.

So this is one of our traditions. It makes us laugh, and laughing makes us feel good.

What are some of your family traditions?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Gerri Bowen and a Family Tradition

  1. Brinda Berry says:

    Omg! I love big headed baby. I need to figure out what I can hide for my sister or son.

    Brinda Berry http://www.brindaberry.com

  2. we took the kids to hawaii for chritmas many years ago. I was worried that they would be disappointed without the big family Christmas dinner, so I told them over and over that we’d be having chicken McNuggets on the beach on Christmas Day. and we did. And for years, we repeated that tradition on christmas eve…it was such fun until I had grandchildren who didn’t share our history and who put new demands on my children for Christmas Eve. It was always fun to revisit our trip and plan future ones.

  3. What a lovely thing to do. Sounds like great fun.

    • Gerri Bowen says:

      It is, Elaine. Of course, sometimes they are hidden a little too well, and months might go by before they’re found. Big Headed Baby Doll was once hidden by daughter number one, and I couldn’t find it. Daughter forgot where she hid it, and it was almost two years before it was found. I still remember how happy she and I were when I discovered its hiding place. Daughter number two was just as happy when told the good news. 🙂 We do enjoy our silliness.

  4. When I was little I would hide my little brother. Nobody would ever look for him. I think he is still hidden somewhere. But I can’t remember.

  5. Gerri Bowen says:

    Well now, I think you had better try and remember! 🙂

  6. Julia Hughes says:

    Wonderful silly traditions:) We had a miniature Father Christmas, smaller than my hand, which was crafted around an opening & closing clothes peg. After taking down the Christmas decorations, I’d peg the little man to one of the curtains – there was no big hunt for him – just a joyful ‘I’ve found him!’ & ‘Back in the box – see you next year Father Christmas’! Strangely, I was only thinking of this little piece of silliness yesterday – enjoyed reading about other families whacky ways!

    Julia

  7. Love family traditions. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

