GERRI BOWEN and the final post about her finger

One week ago I had my fingernail removed at hospital. All very efficient. I was out for the procedure, so I felt no pain until I awakened. But first I noticed three or four of what looked like green plastic cake decoration material stuck in the operating room ceiling. I was excited and happy to see a multi-use for this, although I had no idea why they would put them up on the ceiling. Still a bit groggy. When I mentioned the muti-use, and how cool that was, I was asked how I felt. I realized my finger hurt and complained about that, and sadly, I never learned the reason for the green things stuck up in their ceiling. Was it multi-use?

Instructions for my bandaged finger were simple: Keep it dry. Don’t get it wet. Keep it elevated. I was a good doo-bee. Kept it elevated and didn’t let the bandage get wet. I was allowed to shower if I first wrapped my hand with a dry wash cloth before I covered it all with a plastic baggie. It was the sealing and taping that threw me, but masking tape worked fine, even if I had to do it all with my non-dominant hand.

Saw hand doctor yesterday and my finger was unbandaged for the first time since surgery. Looked weird. No photos. Just pink skin where a nail should be. Reminded me of a dry lake bed. He showed me where there were two stitches, and said my nail should start to grow soon. He again said the infection was under the nail and had lifted when he got to it.

I am now allowed to get it wet, no restrictions other than using my common sense, and I have to keep it covered with a band-aid. I anticipate that by May most of the nail bed will be covered. I will use some of what I experienced in a story, because I still remember the pain the infection caused, and the relief I felt when the infected area was pricked and drained.

So, what have I learned from this? Keep my hands washed. More than normal, I suppose. I still have no idea how the infection entered. Just one of those things, those curves that life throws.

Thank you for following my story. If nothing else, you have learned to keep your hands clean. πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to GERRI BOWEN and the final post about her finger

  1. Glad to hear things are coming around. I was really worried about you. Big Hugs!!

  2. Gerri, I’m so glad that all the worst is behind you and that you’re feeling better. I worked in hospitals for years and grew very accustomed to washing my hands umpteen times a day. I was a a fanatical hand washer then and will continue to be. If I wasn’t, your tale would certainly encourage me to be!

  3. I’m so glad you’re feeling better. I lost a toe nail two years ago. It does take time.

  4. So glad it’s all over! Good luck adjusting to the weird feeling of that bare skin that never used to be. πŸ™‚ I had half a toenail removed once and even after the infection healed, the skin was ultra-sensitive for a long time. I bet it won’t take as long with a finger, though.

  5. I think I’ll be washing my hands more now. LOL. Seriously, take good care of that thing and you should have a nice new nail sooner than you think. I had to grow in my big toenail and what a pain
    (literally), so I can certainly feel for you.

  6. You know the other day I had a finger tip that was sore. I had pulled a hang nail the day before. I ignored it until the next day when it was still sore (usually doesn’t last that long) and then I remembered your story and I started to clean and treat it so it wouldn’t get worse. It cleared up pretty quickly. I did learn from your post to not ignore the body’s response (pain and swelling) to fight infection and to be pro-active. And hand washing … yes, very important too. Glad this has resolved for you.

  7. Barbara Hanst says:

    Soooooooooooooo glad for the resolution of your trauma, Gerri!!! Yes, I think we can all learn from your experience. Thanks for sharing, and fervent wishes and healing will continue to be smooth!!!

  8. I’m glad you are able to blog, that’s got to be uncomfortable. Wishing you a happy new finger nail for post Christmas πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

