GERRI BOWEN, her finger, part three

frog

Yesterday, December 3rd, I saw the hand doctor. He thought my finger didn’t look as swollen as the week before, a good thing. Then he began pressing. When he started wiping away little spots of pus and blood, I knew that was not a good thing.

Tomorrow I am scheduled to have my nail removed at a hospital about 45 minutes away from where I live. I have every confidence that my hand doctor is as qualified and capable as any to do this procedure.

I don’t know how bandaged my hand will be after the surgery. I don’t know whether or not I will be able to sit and type with my left hand the day after. So many unknowns.

I had planned on getting so much accomplished today:

Getting my emails below 100.

Respond to outstanding emails

Insert the cover of my new Christmas short story all over the place

Add my new Christmas story to My Books

Dust and vacuum

Finish writing book reviews

Make a quick stop at grocery store

Soak my hand three times

Write this blog.

What I have accomplished so far:

I wrote this blog. Picked up prescriptions for my dog. Wrapped grandchildren’s Christmas presents before they came home and started bugging me about them. Soaked my hand once. Emails are below 280. They will be above 300 once I get back to them, but I have to soak my hand again for one half hour. Forgot to stop at grocery store.

Anyway, it will be nice not having hours of my day spent soaking my hand and driving to and from doctor appointments. My next blog about my finger will be the last, I am sure, and a good one. If not, I’ll be blogging about someone turning onto a toad. 🙂

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to GERRI BOWEN, her finger, part three

  1. I am glad you are getting the nail off. I want this thing healed. You have to be so careful, hon, not to end up with blood poisoning. I had that happen with my knee when I was a kid. Take care and GET BETTER!!!!

  2. Poor Gerri. I’ve lost a nail before, no fun. But if it helps clear up the infection and makes it better then that’s what counts. I’ll keep you in my prayers.

  3. Gerri, I had a horse split my big toenail right down the middle (stepped on my foot). Of course it had to be removed and it was a pain having to wrap and bandage for close to a year (fingernails are much quicker), but worth it in the end. The nail still is not quite normal, but the relief from pain factor was HUGE. Good luck.

  4. Gerri Bowen says:

    Thank you, Miriam. Having a horse step on your foot has to hurt, and then having to suffer through a split nail because of the misstep has to be painful on many levels. Nails are kind of weird anyway, if you look at them long enough, so however mine grows out will be acceptable to me. Just no more infections.

  5. Good luck, Gerri! I’ll be cringing for you all day! LOL

  6. Barbara Hanst says:

    Wonderful that you have such a good sense of humor about what you’re going through, Gerri. Good luck tomorrow and just think of the fun of watching a new nail grow in!!! Interesting!

  7. I’m sorry to hear about your finger, Gerri. I hope it heals really quickly! Sending prayers and hugs!

  8. What an ordeal. :^( Hoping your finger is all better soon.

  9. Andrea says:

    OMG, Gerri that is horrible. I am so sorry for what you’ve had to endure, and are still going through. What is scary is, when my son was getting ready to leave for school I noticed a red, swollen bump on his hand, I didn’t like the looks of it so I told him to go to the nurse, to see what she thought. She looked at it and called me to say that she thought it may bes a Staph infection. I immediately called the Doctor and took him in. He didn’t seem to think it was Staph, but a spider bite that become infected. So he gave us a cream. While it looks better its still there.

    Wow, I sure hope everything turns out for the best! And all the stuff you didn’t get too will still be there tomorrow. Sending healing thoughts and prayers your way!

    Take care’

    Andrea- CHRW

  10. Went looking for you Gerri and found you here..duh..on your personal blog! Can we clone your personality and ability to pop out onto ‘paper’ (post) those zesty quips? Hope everything went well; that your finger is on its way to healing. Don’t think I can stomach a bunch of toads.

    • Gerri Bowen says:

      Hi Doreen! Yes, I can be found here, too. I assume my finger is healing nicely, the bandage comes off tomorrow, but I still need to keep it upright. Hard to type for long. 🙂

Leave a Reply

