GERRI BOWEN and the still unfinished story of her finger, part two

On Wednesday the 28th I returned to see the hand doctor. He thinks my finger looks a little better, but not as good as it should. He wants to open it up and maybe get all the pus out, and I agree this would be a good thing.

I sit in a chair by the exam table, my arm on top and me facing away from the action. Five needle pricks of anesthesia later, he starts working, but only after making sure I can’t feel anything. I feel no pain, but I know he is doing things to my finger. Against my will my mind tries to visualize what he is doing.  I know it is resting on a sponge, because he told me so. Sponge. Resting on a sponge because it is soft or because it is absorbent? Or both? I wonder how long this is going to take because I’m beginning to feel warm and sweaty. Not long after thinking how weird I feel, I’m afraid I’m going to throw up. I wonder if I can hold it back, but then I am very warm. I ask for an ice back for the back of my neck, and almost immediately it is there. It helps, but not enough. I announce I have to lie down. I repeat it. I hear sounds of paper and things being hurriedly removed from the table, my arm is raised, and the next thing I know I see people looking down at me.

It doesn’t take long to figure out I fainted. Then I hear someone say, “No, her head is there!”. I turn my head and see it is very near the door. It takes me a small while to realize I am not on the exam table, but on the floor. They said they called an ambulance because I had some trouble breathing while I was out, and did I want to go to the hospital? No, I really, really didn’t. They said I would have to tell the ambulance people I was declining. I did so. Did I have chest pain? No. I just wanted to stay where I was. Did I have a ride home? No, but I could get one, so I had them find my cell phone and I arranged for someone to come and get me.

The hand doctor added some finishing touches to my bandaged hand, explaining he had been a bit rushed. We laughed. Hand doctor said little or no pus came out, just blood.Many people came by to see how I was doing, and with the hand doctor and the assistants evident and sincere concern, I felt okay.  They had me sit on the floor while I waited for my ride, but I eventually put the pillow on the floor, covered myself with a gown and lay back down.

Mom finger 001

This is how my hand looked after cut and wrapped. Hand doctor did a very nice job.

This is also why I wasn’t online so much that day or next.

 

I saw hand doctor the next day, Thursday, and he said he thought my finger looked a little better but it was not healing as quickly as it ought. New instructions were to bathe my hand, not just finger, three times a day in an iodine solution with water as hot as I could stand, and then use a band-aid instead of dressing, and no ointment. Apparently I had been over doing the ointment. He gave me a larger tub for the soaks and a bottle of the solution. He also extended my prescription for antibiotics. I was to return on Monday, December 3rd.

After soaking my hand for the second time that day, it looked like some of my skin was melting off the pad part of my finger.

Mom finger 002Mom finger 003Mom finger 004Mom finger 006Mom finger 005

The next day after my first soak, I needed for a doctor to look at my finger and tell me how to put on a band-aid without ripping off skin the next time it was removed. Also, was I using too much iodine solution? Saw a totally new doctor and was relieved when he said it looked fine, just the way it should, and showed me how to do the band-aid, two of them, and said I wasn’t using too much solution.

I see hand doctor on Monday, and hopefully by then my finger will be much better. Or it could turn out that I may have my nail removed. I really don’t care at this point, but I’m thinking it will be better.

The dog’s ear belong either to Minnie or Snookie.

 

During this time my Christmas short, A WILD-BLOODED CHRISTMAS-WITH FANGS, was published.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to GERRI BOWEN and the still unfinished story of her finger, part two

  1. Stormie Kent says:

    Dear Lord Gerri! I am catching up on all the blogs I follow and I find that you have been injured. Speedy recovery to you. I hope you are well soon.

  2. Oh Gerri, how awful for you! So sorry this happened. Wishing you a rapid recovery!

    • Gerri Bowen says:

      Thank you, Pat! I’m sorry this happened, too. In the future, I will be sure to always wash my hands whenever I have a small cut or hangnail. Or a I don’t know what, because I don’t remember any injury to my finger.

  3. Hon, I cannot wait for this to be over. I nearly fainted reading about it! Take care hon.

  4. Ava Quinn says:

    I’m so sorry you’re having to endure all this, Gerri. We missed you today at the party. Hopefully you’ll be able to attend the next meeting. Wishing you a speedy recovery and restful holiday!!

  5. Barbara Hanst says:

    I don’t know, Gerri, I still think you should consider going to Hopkins if your finger doesn’t look a whole lot better SOON! You’ve really been through a LOT!

    • Gerri Bowen says:

      Thanks Barb, but I live outside of Hanover PA now, so Hopkins is a bit of a trek for me, plus Baltimore traffic. Also, starting all over with new doctors, etc. is not at all appealing. I do think it has gotten better, and will see the doctor again tomorrow.

  6. Gerri, my semi-educated eye tells me this does look better! Yeah, there’s some dead stuff and worn-out stuff and still obviously swelling and ugly stuff, but it definitely looks less angry and festering than before.

    Holy CRAP about the fainting! I’m glad you’re doing okay. Next time, I guess don’t even think about what he’s doing? LOL

    • Gerri Bowen says:

      I agree, Natalie. It looks bad with the skin coming off, but below that it looks better to me, too. Yes, next time I will do my best not to think about what is going on, LOL.

  7. Gerri, I’m so sorry to read about your ordeal, and t’s very frightening when you don’t know what exactly is happening to you. Something similar happened to me several years ago when I prevented my small niece from falling into a rosebush by putting myself before her. I didn’t think anything of it at the time and totally forgot about it. Little did I know that weeks later I’d come up with a wacky, little-known diagnosis of ‘Nocardia.’ No one knew what it was until doctors were trying to keep me alive from something that was eating the flesh from my a spot on my forearm and hand. An infectious disease doctor was summoned to my hospital room when ‘things were looking bleak’ (said my primary care dr.), and after many attempts in questioning me as to what might have caused it, finally he triggered me to remember that I was pricked by a thorn, thus the diagnosis and treatment of Bactrim antibiotic “sufficient for a horse,” is how he described the dosage. Long story short, it almost killed me before it was discovered. My doctors said I was a ‘textbook case’ and I became a sitting exhibit for myriads of med students; however, it was the most scary ordeal of my life! Get well FAST my friend, and I’m sorry that you had to go through something painful as this. :0)

  8. Gerri Bowen says:

    Heavens, Donna, that sounds horrible and frightening! Was it something on the thorn that caused the infection, or the infection entered due to the prick of the thorn? My nail will be removed this Wednesday, so hopefully that will end the infection. Thank you, Donna. 🙂

    • I believe the infection entered due to the thorn prick Gerri. After they nailed the diagnosis and I was on the mend, my primary told me that they thought I was going to die! The pain was overwhelming and I was out cold most of the time, but I had no idea it was that bad. I just wanted to write you in case it could help. Yours sounds as flukey as mine was. Good luck with Wednesday; why don’t you ask them if it could be something like nocardia…maybe your nail could be saved with the right antibiotics. Keep us posted gal. :0)

      • Gerri Bowen says:

        Your infection sounds much worse than mine, Donna. My pain was eased about 95% once my primary care pricked it with a needle and squeezed out a lot of stuff.
        Flukey is right. When I was a massage therapist I wore gloves if I had a cut or if my client had a cut. They didn’t like it, some grumbled, but I think they understood once I explained about infection. But back then, you just didn’t hear about all these weird infections people get that are difficult to resolve.
        Thank you for thinking of me, Donna. 🙂

      • I hope you’re feeling better Gerri. :0)

Leave a Reply

