GERRI BOWEN with AUTHOR D.R. GRADY

D.R. Grady lives with her husband near Hershey, PA. She loves gadgets, books, plants, shoes and writing stories that resonate with others. You can generally find her in her “office”, a chair in the living room, hopefully writing, but sometimes playing Angry Birds or reading.

My books are engaging, warm, community based romance novels that are as satisfying as a hug. I have two series available right now. One is a finished, five part light romantic suspense series – The Me Series. The second is The Morrison Family Series, and there are currently seven books in that series. Book 7 comes out next week. There are many, many more of these stories coming.

You’ll find links to every available book on my website. Look under the Bookshelf tab. They are available in ebook and trade paperback versions. http//www.drgradybooks.com

Welcome, D.R., Good to have you here! What led you to write your first novel?

I have known that I wanted to be an author from the very first moment I learned how to string words together to form a sentence.

Is that novel under your bed?

No, it’s called Trust Me and is book 3 of The Me Series!

Do you have a particular writing schedule?

That would require a schedule, so no. You can find me writing whenever the story is bubbling. I’ve written in the middle of the night, at the doctor’s office, in the car, at a friend’s house.

What do you like to read?

Romance, of course!

Do you write in the genre you like to read?

Yes, absolutely.

Who is your favorite author? Or do you have many favorite authors? Are any of them auto—buys?

Jayne Ann Krentz is my favorite and I buy everything she writes. I love to reread my books because they become old friends. I also love Betty Neels, Christine Feehan, Jennifer Crusie, and so many more!

Me, too.

What is it about the author that you like?

Jayne’s books are so beautifully written and thought out. I’m always a little in awe at how her brain works to form such amazing stories.

What kind of stories appeal to you?

Funny, beautifully crafted, with characters who I’d love to know in real life.

In books, do you have any favorite series?

Harry Potter

In terms of your publishing, do you have a goal for this year? Next year? Five years from now?

I intend to continue producing three books a year. I imagine I’ll die over my keyboard still writing the Morrison Family series. There are so many more of those stories to come and I enjoy having at least one other series going. The Me Series is finished for now, but I’ve got a few other series in the works.

LOL! 

Do you like to travel? Have you traveled outside of your country?

I desperately want to see the United Kingdom someday. I’ve been to Canada, and would love to see more of it, as well as so much more of our own country. Then there is Australia, and New Zealand…

How do you relax?

Reading is my absolute favorite way to relax. I also enjoy playing Angry Birds (although that’s not always relaxing!), and getting together with friends. The usual things.

Do you have a favorite time of the year, or favorite holiday? Why is it your favorite?

I love Thanksgiving, mostly because it reminds me of what I do have. Sometimes we can get caught up in what we don’t have and then we lose sight of all we do have.

Very true.

Do you like to self-promote yourself and your books?

Once I’ve figured all this out I think I’ll enjoy it far more. It’s an ever-changing learning process.

 Yes, it is.

What do you think of all the social media connections such as Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, etc.?

This is an easy way for authors and readers to communicate.

Do you belong to any of the above?

You can find me at:

Website: http://www.drgradybooks.com

Twitter: @drgradybooks

Facebook Page: D.R. Grady

Google+:  D.R. Gradybooks

Amazon Author page: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B007HR0ULS

Goodreads: I have a page, but it’s still under construction.

Is there a review you’ve received from a stranger that made you smile and air pump and shout YES!!!! Would you care to share a sentence or two of that review? If so, please leave a link for us to go back and read the entire review.

I’ve had a professional review for my first book and I’m really excited about it. From Dawn at LovesRomanceAndMore:

“The Nerd and the Marine is a sweet and well written romance that will steal your heart from the first page. If you are looking for a sweet and romantic story of friendship, love and root beer loving dogs, then grab The Nerd and the Marine and settle in for an evening of reading entertainment.”

You can find the full review here:

http://loveromancesandmore.blogspot.com/2012/01/nerd-and-marine-by-d-r-grady.html

That is the first book of yours that I read and I fell in love with that family. I can’t wait until I can read the rest.

How can readers connect with you to tell you they love your book?

The best way is to hop onto my website http://www.drgradybooks.com and click on the Contact Me tab. Fill out the form and I will respond. I love to hear from readers! They’re what makes all this worthwhile.

Would you like to tell us about the excerpt you’re about to share?

This story will be out next week and is about a woman who believes she’s a nerd. There’s a certain prince who disagrees with her. This is Book 7 of The Morrison Family Series.

Bad Nerd Rising Blurb:

She’s a nerd in nerd’s clothing, easily identifiable, so why is a prince attracted to her? Why would his hotness, Prince Aleksi, want her, Dr. Tia Morrison, major nerd? And why on earth did she give her cell phone number to a bona fide prince? She’s not princess material – ask any of her three obnoxious brothers. But it would take a stronger nerd than Tia to resist Aleksi’s pleas. His water wells are dying and his country is running out of water sources. He needs a microbiologist. He needs Tia. And Tia figures, what could go wrong? Watch out Rurikstan, there’s a Bad Nerd Rising.

Sounds good.

Final thoughts?

I love getting reader emails. I got one from a wonderful lady who said that reading my books made her feel like she has a family. I loved that. Because when you read one of my books, you do become part of the family. She and so many others who have contacted me are such an encouragement!

Thank you for this opportunity, Gerri. I’m really happy to be here.

Thank you for being here, D.R, it was my pleasure.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to GERRI BOWEN with AUTHOR D.R. GRADY

  1. Decca Price says:

    D.R., I am amazed at how you manage to squeeze in so much writing time. What do you have to give up (if anything) and do you do your editing and revising the same way?

    • DRGradybooks says:

      I’m fortunate to be able to work from home, although I substitute teach some on the side. But I should mention that these books were already written. I’ve just edited them extensively – after a couple of critique partners have seen them. I have to give up some reading and Angry Birds time!

  2. Vicky Burkholder says:

    I’ve loved the Morrison family from the first moment I met them. Thank you for pubbing them for all to enjoy. 🙂

  3. Delynn Royer says:

    It was great to learn more about you, D.R. Your latest book looks like such fun. I have The Nerd and the Marine on my Kindle now and am looking forward to meeting the Morrison family!

  4. Ava Quinn says:

    Great interview, ladies!

  5. Gerri Bowen says:

    Thank you, Ava. Thank you for stopping by and commenting.

  6. You write so fast, DeAnn, it leaves me in awe. I really like Jayne Ann Krentz too.

  7. drgradybooks says:

    These books were already written, Sue. The real test will come after Bad Nerd Rising when I get to start writing again! It’s nice to hear from you.

  8. writlady says:

    I’m amazed that you can write anywhere. wow. I need a keyboard and I don’t lug my laptop with me everywhere, so i’m in awe

    • drgradybooks says:

      Hi writlady! My secret when I’m writing is to take my AlphaSmart everywhere. I’ve also opened Evernote on my phone and written some paragraphs – that tends to be the late night sessions. If we have the right tools, there is no end to what we can accomplish. (:

Leave a Reply

