Gerri Bowen’s guest today is YA Paranormal Author Gerry Trust

Today my guest is YA paranormal romance author, Gerry Trust.

Gerry’s bio:

I am an avid reader and lover of books. My fondest memories from childhood often include books and my favorite horses. Oftentimes, you will see my love of each entwined into my stories.

My favorite authors include Mary Stewart, Sharon Kay Penman, and Dean Koontz. Throughout my life, I have dabbled in writing; however, over the last ten years, I have dedicated myself wholeheartedly to my passion of penning books and novels.

I am a former professional racehorse groom and a stay-at-home mom. I am blessed with five wonderful children and have been married to my extremely patient husband for 33 years. I am a member of Romance Writers of America, Central Pennsylvania Romance Writers and Pennwriters, Inc.

I hope that you will join me on my journey and check back from time to time to read the latest information on my upcoming book releases.

What led you to write your first novel?

-Well, I used to make up stories in grade school based on my favorite TV shows.  But when I hit middle-age, I started having chronic neck and back problems, as the result of an old injury, which makes it difficult to hold down a regular job. I thought I’d try my hand at writing.

Is that novel under your bed?

-It’s unpublished, but I haven’t given up on it.  I think it’s gone through twelve rewrites already.

Do you have a particular writing schedule?

-No, because my husband has a job where he works entirely on-call. There is no such thing as a schedule in our home.  And a lot depends on how much pain I’m in at the moment.

Is there a routine you follow when you write?

-No.

Do you need quiet to write or can there be distractions?

-My computer is in the great room which is full of distractions, but I can tune everything out. I just don’t like people asking me questions and expecting me to respond.  But, obviously, I prefer to write when no one else is home.

Do you listen to music when you write? If so, what do you listen to?

-I’ve played music, but then I zone into the story and everything fades away; I really don’t hear it. I like all kinds of music, but at heart I’m a rock’n’roll gal.

What do you like to read?

-Mysteries are my favorite genre, but all good writing appeals to me.

Is there any genre that has no interest for you?

-Male-oriented macho paramilitary action/adventure with lots of foul language.

Do you write in the genre you like to read?

-I write in several genres, and my taste is eclectic.

Who is your favorite author? Or do you have many favorite authors? Are any of them auto—buys?

-It’s hard to pick one favorite: Agatha Christie, Edgar Allan Poe, Mary Stewart, Ray Bradbury, Phillipa Gregory, J.R.R. Tolkein, Dean Koontz, Sharon Kay Penman, Michael Crichton, Eileen Goudge, Deborah Chester, Shirl Henke, Marion Zimmer Bradley, and the Douglas Preston-Lincoln Child writing duo. Really, the list just goes on, and on, and on.

What is it about the author that you like?

-To pick one: the great thing about Tolkein is that he incorporates genuine folklore about dwarves, dragons, etc. He draws upon a legend about a race that disappeared from Earth for the Elves. He was a scholar of languages and made up the Elven tongue used in the Lord of the Rings saga. His tales are set in the third age of Middle Earth: the Mediterranean Sea means the Sea of Middle Earth.

What kind of stories appeal to you?

-I adore good fantasy. But I love a lot of different genres.

What kind of stories, if any, do you dislike?

-Ones with really dumb heroines—can’t fry an egg dumb—who do one ridiculous thing after another, and yet are somehow irresistible to Alpha male heroes.

In books, do you have any favorite series?  

-If you like fantasy, you can’t go wrong with Deborah Chester’s The Sword, The Ring, and The Chalice.

In terms of your publishing, do you have a goal for this year? Next year? Five years from now?

-I had a goal eleven years ago when I joined Romance Writers of America, and each year I was forced to revise it another year into the future.

Do you like to travel? Have you traveled outside of your country?

-I’m a descendant of Art King of Munster, Ireland 742 A.D. so I’d love to visit the Emerald Isle, but my health issues make traveling that far out of the question. However, in 1977 I did travel to Hawaii to watch my brother graduate with a degree in Physics from the University of Hawaii.  It’s almost like a foreign country. I was able to see a few places on the Big Island known only to the native Hawaiian locals that tourists never see (due to my brother’s connections). I swam in Queen Liliuokalani’s pool—the ancient spring-fed Queen’s Bath—once off limits to all but Hawaiian queens. I’m told it has since been buried by lava from a volcanic eruption.  I took a short hop over the border to see the Canadian side of the Rockies in 1992, while I was out west.

Is there a favorite place you like to return to?

-I love the beach and try to get to the Outer Banks every year.

How do you relax?

-Read, play music, drink cocktails on my patio—although that last bit can be risky if you have too many!

Do you have a favorite time of the year, or favorite holiday? Why is it your favorite?

-I love spring because I adore seeing spring flowers after the harsh winter cold—tulips remind me of luscious lollipops—and there aren’t any weeds growing yet. But I love the fall too—there’s nothing like the brilliant colors of autumn leaves arrayed against a bright blue sky.

Do you have a favorite TV show?

-Antiques Road Show and This Old House are old standbys.  For primetime series I like “Castle” (a mystery writer solving crimes), but my guilty pleasure is “Revenge.”

Do you have any pets? If so, any funny stories you’d like to share?

-We have a two-year-old brown and white sporting-type Springer Spaniel. He’s a real bush-whacker and has trails throughout my flowerbeds. He got skunked big-time three months ago at midnight. Now, before I let him out at night, I run outside with a flashlight and yell: “Go away, Mr. Skunk!” I think I would do that too, Gerry.

Children at home? If so, how do they like the fact that you’re an author? Any funny stories you’d like to relate?  

-They’re full grown and I’ve been warned not to repeat a lot of those stories.  What they really hate is Mom phoning them all the time for help with various computer glitches. But they’re good sports, and they pitched in to help me get LOVE ON THE EDGE OF TOMORROW published.  My kids are the same, Gerry. At least with the five you have you’re able to spread the questions around.

Do you like to self-promote yourself and your books?

-I’m an introvert so no, not at all. I hear you.

What do you think of all the social media connections such as Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, etc.?

-I’m computer and internet challenged; it’s all Greek to me. But if it works for you…

Do you belong to any of the above?

-I haven’t learned Greek yet. LOL!

Is there a review you’ve received from a stranger that made you smile and air pump and shout YES!!!! Would you care to share a sentence or two of that review? If so, please leave a link for us to go back and read the entire review.

-It’s exciting when someone you don’t know loves your book. There are several reviews on Amazon from people I don’t know that are quite enthusiastic.

How can readers connect with you to tell you they love your book?

-Amazon and Barnes and Noble allow purchasers to post reviews and/or click the “like” feature. But I do have a website:  http://www.gmtrustbooks.wordpress.com

Would you like to tell us about the excerpt you’re about to share?

-One day it occurred to me that life in an Earth colony on a distant planet might be more like something out of our past than the high-tech future. How much can you really take with you if you’re traveling ten or eleven light-years to another planet?  What if one group rose to dominate the rest?  And whose side would you be on?

Cover Blurb – Love on the Edge of Tomorrow

A coed discovers she’s the missing crown princess of a planet in the far-flung future, mired in the past.

Up to now, Alexandra Marshall’s biggest worry was winning Grand Champion at the next horse show, but on Cambria she faces a brew of intrigue, seduction, and political rebellion. Two handsome princes vie for her hand; but when she’s abducted by the rebels, she learns of the sinister conspiracy that ended democracy and oppressed the people.

When the prince she loves finds out she’s aiding the rebels, will he stand with her or against her?

I enjoyed the book, Gerry, so I hope this blog alerts others to your work. At first glance of the cover it might look like a Western, but the two moons or planets in the sky kind of dispels that notion.

Helpful inks:

GM Trust’s Web site: http://gmtrustbooks.wordpress.com/

Amazon.com: http://www.amazon.com/Love-Edge-Tomorrow-G-Trust/dp/1466458909/ref=sr_1_1_title_0_main?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1324259431&sr=1-1

Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/Love-Edge-Tomorrow-ebook/dp/B005XQYSR2/ref=sr_1_1_title_1_kin?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1324259431&sr=1-1

Smashwords (for PCs): https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/70963

Barnes and Noble (for Nook):  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/love-on-the-edge-of-tomorrow-gm-trust/1104362023?ean=2940011386749

Thank you for being here today, Gerry! It was nice learning so many new things about you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Gerri Bowen’s guest today is YA Paranormal Author Gerry Trust

  1. Decca Price says:

    Gerry,
    You named a number of authors you like — but what really inspires you (and notice I ask “what,” not just “who”)?

    • gerrytrust says:

      The mystery of life inspires me, and things like the quest for the Holy Grail or the Key to the Arcanum. Every one is on a journey and life often throws you a curve you don’t expect. Many people are forced to confront evil and danger in real life, but otherwise only vicariously like in a murder mystery or in one of Dean Koontz’s novels. How do they react? Are they courageous enough and/or clever enough to triumph? (whether in real life or fiction) But life revolves around love and romance–that’s why romance is such a popular genre–and without love life is a scary place.

      • Decca Price says:

        Yes, the great journey! I read somewhere once that there are only two basic stories: “a stranger comes to town” or “someone takes a journey.”

        I love your cover, by the way!

  2. gerrytrust says:

    Gerri, Thank you for having me today. I was delighted when you read LET and told me you enjoyed it. As soon as I had a printout of the cover, I took it to a friend’s house to show her. Her cleaning lady was walking by the kitchen table and said, “Two moons, how cool.” My girlfriend exclaimed, “Oh, two moons, I didn’t even notice.” The girl and the saddle on the horse look contemporary (saddles haven’t changerd much in a century) but the two moons suggest it isn’t Earth. Because Alex, the heroine, was sent via interdimensional space-time travel (involving a physics theory I once dreamed up but couldn’t repeat now to save my life) back to Earth to be raised in the 1950s and come of age in 1972, she thinks the long-haired guy she meets on the trail is a hippie and is not, at first, alarmed.

    • Gerri Bowen says:

      Yes, the cover initially looks like a contemporary Western until you see the two moons. I liked how you explained her time-travel, as it sounded plausible.

      • gerrytrust says:

        Yes, I gave some thought to the time-travel–it’s not sci fi per se so giving the reader all of the physics behind the theory would have been a bit out of place (and honestly I’ve since forgotten a lot of it) but I tried to make it plausible. It took me awhile to figure out how to convey on the cover that the heroine was on a different planet; but then I thought of the scene in the novel where she first becomes aware of the two moons, and that made up my mind about the cover. Later in the story, the reader discovers why Alex, as an infant, was sent back to to Earth during the 1950s and not some other time period. Cambria is a backward society without modern devices. Only the spaceship which the settlers arrived in has advanced technology, and the secret is closely guarded by the Order of the Keepers of Knowledge.

  3. Pingback: Book Buzz | Romance writer Gerry Trust featured in Q&A

  4. Ava says:

    Lovely interview, ladies!

    (cprw vp) 😉

  5. lesleyrahll says:

    This sounds like a great premise and a pretty interesting world you’ve created. Do you plan on using this setting for more novels or are you working in a new direction? Is the book under your bed anything like this?

    • gerrytrust says:

      A number of readers have asked me to please write a sequel to LOVE ON THE EDGE OF TOMORROW so I’m taking that under serious consideration for my next manuscript. Currently, I have two other works-in-progress that are entirely diffferent genres. The book under my bed isn’t anything like LET or the others. It’s a mix of genre’s, including paranormal and women’s fiction, but it is essentially a mythological quest/allegory set in the early 1970s that reads like a soap-opera–which makes it very hard to market. I have had literary agents and editors tell me the premise is intriguing and the writing is good, but it’s a long novel so to them it’s a big risk. I don’t have a literary track record they can count on, and long novels cost a lot more money to produce.

  6. What a beautiful cover. The trilogy you named by Deborah Chester is one of my favorites. Is your book in print too. I want a signed copy.
    Any one who can raise five kids can conquer Greek.

    • gerrytrust says:

      I’m so glad you like the cover, Sue. Yes, you can order the paperback from Amazon. I have a daughter who can speak four languages (good for her) but I only speak one. Computer Greek has eluded me so far, just ask my kids. They keep telling me I really need to take courses at the local community college. And that might help, but technology seems to change so fast. I only just got a cell phone a few years back and I still don’t know how to work everything on it, and now there’s smart phones.

  7. Pingback: Guest Feature on Gerri Bowen’s Blog « gmtrustbooks

  8. Delynn Royer says:

    Nice interview, Gerry and Gerri! I’ve already read and enjoyed Love on the Edge of Tomorrow and wish you the best with getting the good word out.

    • Gerri Bowen says:

      Thank you, Delynn. I read Gerry’s Love on the Edge of Tomorrow and loved it too, and wish more people would read it.

      • gerrytrust says:

        Thank you, Gerri for your compliment and helping me get the word out by having me as a guest today on your blog. There is a two and a half chapter continuous excerpt availble for people to read on Smashwords if they want to take a look. Amazon sort of skips through.

    • gerrytrust says:

      Thank you, Delynn. It makes any author’s day when they hear from people who liked their book.

  9. Gerri Bowen says:

    Make sure to leave a link on Smashwords for people to read the two and a half chapters excerpt, Gerry.

  10. Gerri Bowen says:

    Gah! I meant to say for you to leave the link to Smashwaords so people could read the two and a half chapters.

    • gerrytrust says:

      I think the smashwords link is in the links listed above at the end of the interview. But if you just go to http://www.smashwords.com and type in the title of the book you’ll get there. I think then you need to click on the book cover (or something) and another screen comes up with the extra stuff, and you’ll be able to get to the excerpt.

  11. Gerri Bowen says:

    You’re right Gerry. I clicked on the link and it took me right to your page.

  12. Great interview! I’m nearly done with LET and really enjoying it.

    I laughed at “Male-oriented macho paramilitary action/adventure with lots of foul language.” 🙂

    Castle and Revenge are two of my favorite shows, too, but I do *not* feel guilty whatsoever for the pleasure. 🙂

    • gerrytrust says:

      I’m glad you’re enjoying LET, N J. I was hoping to get a laugh out of the “male-oriented macho paramilitary action/adventure with lost of foul language”–my son, sons-in-law, and husband seem to love that stuff. My husband thinks “Castle” is okay, but when “Revenge” is on he moans and reads a book.

  13. Gerri Bowen says:

    Thanks to all the people who stopped by, and those who took the time to comment. Very much appreciated by Gerry and Gerri! 🙂

  14. Allegra says:

    Lovely blog! I am loving it!! Will come back again. I am taking your feeds also

Leave a Reply

