My New Release~FOR LOVE OF GWYNNETH

So obviously I am happy to tell anyone who is interested that I have a new novel out. I’m an author, and this is what we do once edits are done, cover is done and the thing is finally published. I left out the part about finding a publisher who will accept a synopsis and first three chapters and get back to you in less than three months. Six months. A year. Anyhoo.

Blurb:

It is 1135, and everything Gwynneth and Richard thought they wanted is put to the crucible.

Gwynneth’s innocent desire to spy on her secret love, brother to the man her father says she will wed,  spirals out of control when Richard captures her.

All Richard wanted was a quick tryst with a Wood Nymph. He never imagined he would be forced into a marriage. Everything goes wrong, starting with his plans to avenge the deaths of his father and uncle, not to mention that his brother had planned to wed Gwynneth. A powerful baron from the north claims he has a signed betrothal contract between his son and Lady Gwynneth, which the baron intends to enforce. Then there is the matter of his new father-in-law and his unceasing efforts to end Richard’s life. The only good to come from the marriage, Richard finally realizes, is Gwynneth. Then she’s taken from him.

Richard’s journey begins to reclaim his wife. For love of Gwynneth.

I hope you will find the blurb and cover interesting enough to take a closer look, decide you want to read this, and then buy it. You will love it and write a great review. Remember, I’m an author and this is how we think.

My book was released Monday on Amazon, and Tuesday on Barnes&Noble. I am only getting to this post today because I have a life when I’m not writing. As do all other authors. We all scramble to find time to write, then find a publisher, or more often nowadays,  self-publish. Editing can be brutal and will hurt your head.

Then we have to promote our work! Sheesh! Of course, ten million other authors are promoting their work as well. We have to be careful not to annoy people with our promotion, but we have to be proactive in letting people know that, Hey! I have a new book out! If you liked my other work, you might like this!

Unfortunately, we can’t do this one time only. Some people-Gasp!-don’t go online but once a week. Some people might belong to all the different groups I belong to and visit daily. So when I post about my new release, they may see the same promotion fifty million times. Or they may see it one time if they happen to be reading the loop news that day, and in the two hour time frame it remains visible.

It is a delicate balance of READ ME and please read me. Each author has their own idea of what works and what doesn’t. And I think it’s safe to say no author likes doing this. We’re generally introverts. We listen and observe. Putting ourselves out there, as well as our baby isn’t fun. Well, maybe the first week it is, but we would rather be writing.

This is how I feel, but I’m curious about how others feel. Authors, how do you like promoting?

Readers, how do you feel about authors and their promotions?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to My New Release~FOR LOVE OF GWYNNETH

  1. Cera duBois says:

    I know where you are coming from with the balancing act, Gerri. I sometimes wonder if I’m going overboard… but then I have a ton of non-writing friends who may not see my promo because, unlike us writers who constantly seem to be on FB and Twitter, they only get on once a week to check their email.

    I don’t mind the promo… Well, this pre-promo stuff. I’m doing a huge blog tour through Bewitching Book Tours and I set up several guest blogs and interviews myself…. I was even approached by a e-zine to do an interview through Linkedin because I’m a debut author. I may not have gotten this chance if it wasn’t for my pre-promo.

    But for my book tour, I already have all the guest blogs written because I’m going to be posting a series of fun short stories based on my books. I have all of the interviews I set up on my own done. Just waiting on the ones to come from Bewitching. I have swag and prizes to give away at each and every stop along the way. So, to be honest, I’m looking forward to the book tour. I’m going to have fun and live in the moment of my very first book releasing!

    And as a reader… I don’t mind the promo of other authors. Frankly, if I’m not interested I pass over it… but I’ve discovered some VERY good books I wouldn’t have ever known about if it hadn’t been for promo.

  2. Gerri Bowen says:

    Thanks for commenting, Cera. I, too, have found some gems from other author promo. And although I do hesitate to point this out on some loops, everyone has a delete button.
    Good luck with your blog tour! I know they can be exhausting.

  3. Coleen Kwan says:

    Gerri, I empathise with your dilemma because I’m going through the same at the moment! Good luck with your new release. The blurb sounds intriguing and the cover is wonderful.

    • Gerri Bowen says:

      Thank you for your compliments, Coleen. I’m happy with my cover, and naturally I think my book is great. 🙂
      Promotion is a dilemma for writers. So many of us have a limited amount of computer time, so if we promote it is usually in that brief period of time which may seem like a blitz to others. But we also need our time for writing.
      It’s worth it though.

  4. Mae Clair says:

    Oh, congrats on the release! The book sounds wonderful, brimming over with intrigue and romance. And I can so relate to your dilema. My book doesn’t release until October 8th but I’m constantly doing pre-promotion and it’s difficult because I also work a full-time job and, most importantly, want to write! I’ve had to put my current WIP on hold while finishing up edits on Weathering Rock and staying on top of blogging, and other forms of social media.

    Don’t get me wrong . I’ve made many wonderful friends through promoting and reading promotions from other authors, and I’ve also found some great reads I might have missed otherwise. So I don’t mind when authors promote, I just wish I had more time to handle my own balancing act. Wishing you much success!

    • Gerri Bowen says:

      Thank you, Mae. I’m happy and excited about my book’s release. 🙂
      I hear you about putting other works on hold while promoting and pre-release promoting. Like you, I have come across some gems of a read, and have met some interesting and wonderful people along the way.
      I don’t mind seeing promotions from other authors either; I know they are just trying to get the word out about their wonderful new book, and sometimes it does take ten or more times before taking a closer look.
      Thank you for stopping by and commenting, Mae.

  5. Hildie McQueen says:

    Promo – Pre-Promo- Author Branding – Marketing – Prostitution, hey! Where did that last word come from! 🙂 It’s so much work, but we do it only because we are in love with our work and want to share our stories. I love writing, I love guest blogging and all that stuff, but I always have a bit of an issue saying “buy my book” which I suppose defeats the purpose of being an author! LOL Best of luck to you Gerri, I ADORE the cover, and the story sounds amazing. I want to read it and I extend an invitation to please be my guest on my blog!

    • Gerri Bowen says:

      I know, Hildie! Promo! I think every author shudders when they hear that word.
      Thank you for stopping by and commenting, and I accept your offer, thank you!

  6. Well … I am not an author. But I am a friend of this wonderful lady. I have no real opinion about promotions, but I have known this dear lady for a very long time (won’t say how long because it could embarrass us both), and she is the best!!

    Best of luck, Gerri, on your new book.

  7. Congrats on your book release, Gerri. sorry i’m so late to the party. it looks wonderful. I love medieval romances so I’m going over to Amazon to take a look.

  8. Gerri Bowen says:

    Better late than never, Louise. I hope you like what you see! Thank you for taking the time to stop by and comment.

  9. kittyb78 says:

    Congrats Gerri! 🙂

  10. Gerri, congrats on the new release. As for balancing promotion, I feel your pain. LOL It’s a necessary evil. I’ve found my best promotion is word of mouth from readers, something I can’t nor want to control.

    I wish you many sales!

  11. gabdeveraux says:

    Love the cover of this book it is very beautiful Gerri. Also thanks for all the LIKES today!

  12. Gerri Bowen says:

    LOL, you’re welcome!

Leave a Reply

